Doing as I am told.

Book, Write Thyself !

I hadn’t envisioned that writing successfully would be that difficult. I thought it was easy. But my, how many reasons have I had that sabotages my efforts. Even up till now I am not sure if those reasons are actually true. They feel legitimate, but are they so? This very argument itself is an excuse not to write.

I am not sure about it, yet I read the occasional articles about writing. Some answer my questions that I didn’t know I had except  for occasional particular difficulties in getting it done.

Legitimacy issue, ‘who am I to..’

I think that’s the main point.

Do I have something to say ? Yes I do.

Do I have something important to say ? Yes I do.

Am I filling a knowledge gap ? I don’t know. I haven’t read all the books in the world so I don’t know for sure. If they were around and accessible to me, I wouldn’t have had to look for the missing knowledge for myself. I grew up having a real hard time looking for answers to which none I have met or read could enlighten me but the knowledge which eventually I would get to.

But what about the lucky ones after me ? Yes. Lucky ones. Because I could provide them the insights that could smoothen their eyebrows quickly.

I guess that is legitimacy enough.

Now I just have to organize that book. How can I make it useful such that the successful in person stories be useful for everyone else ? After all, that is why I would be writing the book,  n’est ce pas ?

I struggled so you don’t have to ! That’s why I am writing that book. That is why that  book needs to be written, why it wants to be written.

So Book, Write Thyself !

 

 

2 responses

  1. I can totally understand this! Oh that books would write themselves! I hear some authors describe books as having “written themselves”, but I’ve yet to experience this phenomenon.

    A writing teacher once told me that even if what you have to say (topic wise) has been written about before, it will be different because it will be you saying it. So don’t worry too much about filling a knowledge gap (unless, of course, you’re writing a non-fiction piece with an eye to getting published).

    Good luck with your writing!

    Carrie M

    June 29, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    • Smaaak

      Hi Carrie, Thanks for your comment and for visiting. I was really really getting fed up being stuck at to write or not to write. I think this ‘write yourself book’ should be pretty good thing to experience before I die ! Thanks for your encouragement about the knowledge gap.
      Sheryl

      June 30, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Leave a Reply

