Doing as I am told.

Stretching Time…

Here’s an example of how my brain functioned today with regards to stretching time.

I’d missed a ferry today, next one would be 50 minutes later.

Now 50 minutes is neither long nor short.

It is somewhere in between.

It’s too long for me to just sit down and wait.

Too short for me to do anything else in particular.

My mood, I wanted to go ice skating. I had plenty of time to do unhurried skating today before work.

But 50 minutes wait is 50 minutes less of ice skating. Although I had deliberately unhurried, due to a freer day, 50 minutes is 50 minutes long!

Where I would normally have a coffee outdoors, 50 minutes would be pleasant, the  sun does not hit that spot at that time of the day.

I was struggling. Restless. Bored. Very Bored.

I was distressed. OMG, I started getting depressed about the Meaning of Life.

As I struggled, I walked around, remembering there was a little skate park nearby.

I went there and decided to figure out my 3-turn, (that’s what it’s called, just going straight and changing directions to  backwards).

What was it about the upper torso, the arms positioning, the no-twist, the using the knees, the smoothness, the glide into position so naturally?

So in my normal shoes I tried the positions, in utter slow motion. Hey, I am not gliding anywhere in rubber soled shoes !

And I think I got it. By Jove, I think I got it !

Forwards outside turn, inside turn,

Backwards outside turn, inside…… !

Oh… I  can’t wait to get to the ice rink.

I looked at the time, lo and behold, 10 minutes to ferry time.

Where did the time go ?

That distressing time became a nugget of no-time gold  for me.

And I shall look for my inline skates. I think it is easier to practice on inline skates because the friction is greater and I can put on more protective gear in case of falls.

Time for the ferry !

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. Life has it’s twists and turns and sometimes it tells us to rest.

    December 12, 2011 at 5:02 am

    • Smaaak

      That 50 minutes of ‘free’ time was certainly one of Unrest !

      December 12, 2011 at 6:01 am

Leave a Reply

