Doing as I am told.

This and That

I really like WordPress.

I like the blank piece of white that awaits me

that woos me,

invites me

to Write.

 

Now with Android,

on the go,

it’s even more fun.

I think it’s the Potential of it

that keeps me very interested.

 

****

 

Now about the smart phone, I have never owned any sophisticated one my entire life. I did buy a cheap one years back for a try out but I hardly ever used any functions except make that phone call. At most, SMS. So I didn’t bother looking at anymore phone technology after that.

So what possessed me to buy that Samsung Galaxy Note on the whim ?

It was like this, I had gone to the cheapest phone company that I passed by, just because the biggest phone companies gave me plenty of crap and crap service plus not excellent reception over the years.  Now enticing with this and that, and locked in for two years and calculating rebates backwards and this and that. But when it comes to the fine print, We Know.

So I went into this shop enquiring about their charges and conditions when all of a sudden I noticed this Mr handling his brand new phone just out of the box being tested. Wow. Big. Wow, the colors. Wow, generous size and colours. Wow.

I asked ‘How much?’ and said ‘I want it’.

And that was it. I waited two weeks for mine. My contract is only for a year. I like that.

I don’t often spend a huge amount of money on technology. I don’t use them and they are usually not very user friendly. Having lost phones before, mobile things, I kept to the cheap phones, good for phone calls. I don’t even use it that much.

But the phone I was using had gone wonky. I dropped it so hard a few times, It must have gotten knocked out and damaged. I badly needed a replacement but because there is so much choice, my decision would be no decision.

So I got this nice Galaxy Note.

Nice it is.

And I discovered how much fun it is. The smartphone market has matured some, therefore stabilized. So one generation to the next will not be that huge a gap. This one has much memory plus SD card.

Plus the carrier says unlimited internet use plus wifi connection. It can even be its own wifi hotspot!

I had this phone for a while, someone introduced me to Whatsapp. I said what app? Last time I used messengers was ICQ that was the funnest time I had. Uh Oh !  Msn and Yahoo couldn’t beat that time.

So I got the Whatsapp. I didn’t use much of it.  I wondered why I spent so much money on it. But I liked that it’s big. I can see things in it more comfortably than a normal  phone size. And it is handier than the bigger tablets.

So WordPress was one of the earliest apps I downloaded. I use it to post quick short blogs.

I used it once to take pictures and post it right up, but it turned out upside down.

Ah but……..ever since I discovered the music apps, it became a fun and very useful piece. I learn to listen to Intervals on piano keys. I play games to guess that tone that I hear. I name my guitar frets and its tones. I use it so much for music. It even contains my score sheets. But it’s a tad small for that, but better than nothing when I forget to bring my music notes.

I am glad I got it. Fast, much memory. Simple to use.

Well forget about being paranoid with privacy issues and such. The permissions they ask for is akin to liberties to know where you are, who you call, who your friends are and what you use your phone for. Scary isn’t it?

But for the sake of my learning music, it’s fine.

***

My music ? It’s getting to be a whole lot of fun. The teacher got me to jam to the Wake Me Up before September by Greenday, which I was learning since the beginning on my guitar, which caused the cramps and the difficult Bm. I learn the drums for it. Pretty cool. Not smooth yet but pretty cool. I can sing along too !

The guitar? I learnt something exciting. I knew that it’s easy to spell out the ABCs along each string on each fret. It’s exactly laid out like the piano. But I could not figure out the chords. Today he taught me to Barre.  When you Barre F to G it holds the same shape. WOW ! And you keep going down the frets holding the same shape. That is real cool !

He said something about you can’t do the shape with open strings. So you Barre them, so that you can do it. You add One. Now that I am home , I want to ask, why add one ? What is that one ? But it is exciting that I get that piece of knowledge. There goes my new flesh again, unused flesh to be thickened. Ouch. F hurts because my finger sides have not been thickened. Just the finger tip.

Well I still have to  get the sounds out of the F but it is really exciting to know.
***

My Figure skating ? I learnt to do the half turn jump. I did it successfully without much ado unlike everything else that required the ado. It turned out to be similar to the 3-turn that I so painstakingly corrected.

My feet no longer cramp up. My only limitation to how long I can practise is the small deep muscles of my right butt. They still cramp, and tire out the fastest now.

And then someone else came to talk to me. I suppose since I can do the half turn, I qualify to talk to them and join their club ! They are more advanced than I.

Figure skating was not my sport, but it turns out to be so engaging and so interesting.

**

That’s a pretty long post for today.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

