Doing as I am told.

The Secret that is 12

I can do the F.
I can do the G.
Barred.
And continue counting my ABCs
Downward.

I know my ABCs
And my Do Re Mi s.

I know my 7 + 5 = 12

And from  that 12 notes
The 12 scales
And the respective chords.

The Intervals
The hop skip and jump
All is named minor 2 to major 7

Before we start all over again
The next Octave.

The 12.
From there
The whole wide universe
and womb of
Western Music .

A Formula of 12
created
by the
Ancient Grandmasters
The Rules of their Harmony
Handed down to us.

2 responses

  1. I don’t know any music theory, but if you check out my blog, you’ll see me doing 220 BPM on the Steely Dan solo from “Bodhisattva.”

    Now is as good a time as any to start learning some theory…

    April 28, 2012 at 2:44 am

    • Smaaak

      I did not dare venture into music because I knew nothing and did not know where to start. I thought I could never get it. I thought the most I could do musically would be the 4 string bass guitar.
      My guitar teacher said to me in that case learn the guitar. Bass comes easily after that. I said ok. Thus my education. I can’t actually do any song right for now, not even talking about BPM. When I sound reasonable, I’ll record and post it.

      April 28, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

