Doing as I am told.

Writing101 – Day Two: A Room with a View

I absolutely hate the heat. Maybe I do not hate the dry heat. But I hate the muggy kind of city heat, the kind that does not allow me to sweat, yet envelopes and follows me no matter where I walk to. In that humid heat I feel my shirt on my back, sticking to me. I move feeling my skin pushing into the still thick air as if I were parting the Red Sea.

But it isn’t even that hot yet. It is only the early hint of the summer to come. How I dread the summer. To be walking in the concrete jungle surrounded by tall buildings which traps the air, the exhaust of those frequent and plentiful buses pulling off from their stops. The feel of that exhaust air particles weighted by the heavy water vapour on my exposed skin, on my face. I had often times  feel like  I would like to remove my skin as I remove my shirt off my back.

Perhaps I might like to get away? Not necessarily so.  I am comfortable enough were I to not move,to  just sit very quietly on my sofa that is draped with cool smooth sheets and to enter the world of Writing101 and Photoshop. In there I forget about my physical surroundings, reminded only when I shift positions as my skins cuts across the air again, even if only a little.

Enough, I get out of my apartment, take the lift into the cool lobby. I ask the receptionists about my appointment with the technicians.  My air conditioners are not yet ready for the climate change. The coolant is gone in one, and the other does not respond to the remote control.

Leave a Reply

